Government auditing standards

Government auditing standards are used to conduct financial audits and performance audits of government entities and entities that receive government awards. Performance audits are used to measure the performance of a project or program against previously defined objectives. These standards are promulgated by the Government Accountability Office, and are more commonly referred to as the Yellow Book. The standards are primarily intended for audits of the United States federal government, but are frequently used for audits of state and local entities, as well. The auditing standards are divided into the following topics:

  • Foundation and ethical principles

  • Standards for use and application

  • General standards

  • Standards for financial audits

  • Standards for attestation engagements

  • Field work standards for performance audits

  • Reporting standards for performance audits

Similar Terms

Government auditing standards are also known as Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards.

Related Courses

Governmental Accounting 
How to Conduct an Audit Engagement