Antitrust laws

Antitrust laws protect consumers from predatory business practices that might otherwise arise in monopolistic or oligopolistic business environments where markets are dominated by a small number of companies. The statutes address such issues as price fixing, bid rigging, and protected markets, with the overall goal of creating a fair and competitive business environment. The three main antitrust laws, all promulgated by the federal government, are:

  • The Clayton Antitrust Act of 1914

  • The Federal Trade Commission Act of 1914

  • The Sherman Antitrust Act of 1890